You are logged in as an event manager. This page is cached for performance until Sun, 05 Dec 2021 20:48:24 GMT. Preview latest contents by clicking Refresh.
Logout

Cindy M. L. Hutnik

2022 Planning Committee - Awards and Posters | Committee de planification 2022 - prix et affiches
Participates in 2 items

Dr. Hutnik is a full professor in the Departments of Ophthalmology and Pathology at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry. She served as Medical Director of the Ophthalmology Basic Science Laboratory at the Lawson Health Research Institute in the Center for Clinical Investigation and Therapeutics for 18 years and Chair of Research in the Department of Ophthalmology for 15 years. She earned her doctoral degree at the National Research Council followed by undergraduate medical training, both in Ottawa, Canada. She then obtained her ophthalmology training at the University of Western Ontario, in London, Canada followed by subspecialty glaucoma training under the mentorship of Dr. Paul Kaufman at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA. She currently is a member of a number of editorial and research review boards. She has served as medical education section editor for the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology. She supervises an independent program of clinical, basic science, educational research and collaborates with local colleagues engaged in health economics research.

Her administrative roles have included Faculty Chair of the Summer Research Training Program at the University of Western Ontario as well as membership on the Faculty Clinician-Scientist committee, MD/PhD selection committee, medical advisory committee of the Canadian National Institute for the Blind Mobile Eye Care Program, councilor and secretary/treasurer of the Canadian Glaucoma Society and co-chair of the Canadian Glaucoma Clinical Research Council. She also served on the clinical expert panel for the creation of Ontario glaucoma quality standards and was both the provincial glaucoma representative on the Tariff Committee of the Eye Physician and Surgeons of Ontario (EPSO) and clinical advisor to the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH). She has been elected as the Chair of the National Research Award Committee of the Canadian Ophthalmological Society. She has worked closely with the Faculty of Health Sciences to create a business plan and proposal for Interprofessional Health Education Undergraduate Curriculum in the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at Western University. She is currently Chair of the Governing Committee of the Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario (AMOSO).

Her major research interest is focused on the pathophysiology and management of glaucoma with a sub-interest in ocular surface and macular disease. She has supervised and mentored in focused research activities more than 125 students at all levels of training ranging from high school to graduate science and medicine. Her work has been presented and published both nationally and internationally and has been recognized with over 70 awards. She continues to have keen interest in the development of novel and/or optimization of existing treatments for patients with glaucoma. Believing strongly in collaborative models of eye care she is proud of the global partnerships she has developed between the Schulich School and key centers in China, Italy and the United States.

Financial disclosure: Dr. Hutnik has/had an affiliation (financial or otherwise) with a commercial organization:

  • Allergan
  • Bausch & Lomb
  • Aequus
  • Ivantis
  • Evolvucare
  • Labtician/Thea

    Sessions in which Cindy M. L. Hutnik participates

    Thursday 24 June, 2021

    Time Zone: (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
    5:30 PM
    5:30 PM

Cindy M. L. Hutnik

2021 Planning Committee - Awards and Posters | Committee de planification 2021 - prix et affiches
Participe à 2 sessions

La DreHutnik est professeure titulaire aux départements d’ophtalmologie et de pathologie de l’École Schulich de médecine et d’art dentaire. Elle a été pendant 18 ans directrice médicale du Laboratoire de sciences fondamentales en ophtalmologie de l’institut Lawson de recherche sur la santé du Center for Clinical Investigation and Therapeutics et pendant 15 ans, titulaire de la chaire de recherche du Département d’ophtalmologie. Elle a obtenu son doctorat au Conseil national de recherches, puis son diplôme de premier cycle en médecine à Ottawa, au Canada. Elle a ensuite suivi une formation en ophtalmologie à l’Université Western Ontario, à London, au Canada, puis une formation surspécialisée en glaucome avec son mentor, le Dr Paul Kaufman, à l’Université du Wisconsin à Madison, aux États-Unis. Elle est actuellement membre de plusieurs conseils de rédaction et d’examen de la recherche. Elle a été rédactrice de la section de l’éducation médicale pour le Journal canadien d’ophtalmologie. Elle supervise un programme indépendant de recherche clinique en sciences fondamentales et en éducation et elle collabore avec des collègues locaux engagés dans la recherche en économique de la santé.

Parmi ses rôles administratifs, elle a dirigé pour la Faculté le Programme d’été en formation à la recherche à l’Université Western Ontario et elle a siégé au comité des cliniciens chercheurs, au comité de sélection des candidats MD-PhD et au comité consultatif médical du programme mobile de soins oculovisuels de l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles. Elle a en outre été conseillère et secrétaire-trésorière de la Société canadienne du glaucome et coprésidente du Conseil canadien de recherche clinique sur le glaucome. Elle a également siégé au groupe d’experts cliniques pour la création de normes de qualité sur le glaucome en Ontario et elle été la représentante provinciale pour le glaucome auprès du comité des honoraires des Médecins et chirurgiens de l’œil de l’Ontario (EPSO) et conseillère clinique auprès de l’Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé (ACMTS). Elle a été élue présidente du Comité national des bourses de recherche de la Société canadienne d’ophtalmologie. Elle a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Faculté des sciences de la santé à la création d’un plan d’affaires et d’une proposition de programme interprofessionnel de formation de premier cycle en santé à l’École Schulich de médecine et d’art dentaire de l’Université Western. Elle est actuellement présidente du comité directeur de l’Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario (AMOSO).

En recherche, elle s’intéresse principalement à la pathophysiologie et à la prise en charge du glaucome, ainsi qu’aux maladies de la surface oculaire et de la macula. Elle a supervisé et encadré plus de 125étudiants à tous les niveaux de formation, des études secondaires aux études supérieures en sciences et en médecine. Son travail a été présenté et publié à l’échelle nationale et internationale et elle a reçu plus de 70 prix et distinctions. Elle continue de s’intéresser vivement au développement de nouveaux traitements et à l’optimisation des traitements existants pour les patients atteints de glaucome. Fermement convaincue de l’utilité des modèles collaboratifs en soins oculovisuels, elle est fière des partenariats mondiaux qu’elle a développés entre l’École Schulich et d’importants centres en Chine, en Italie et aux États-Unis.

Divulgation des intérêts financiers: La Dre Hutnik a (ou a eu) une affiliation (financière ou autre) avec une organisation commerciale

  • Allergan
  • Bausch & Lomb
  • Aequus
  • Ivantis
  • Evolvucare
  • Labtician/Thea
  • Sessions auxquelles Cindy M. L. Hutnik participe

    jeudi 24 juin, 2021

    Fuseau horaire: EDT/Eastern Time (US & Canada)