Leon Herndon

Keynote Speaker
Participates in 1 Session

Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD, is Professor of Ophthalmology at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina. He earned his MD from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, and served his internship and residency at the University of North Carolina Hospital in Chapel Hill. Dr. Herndon then completed a clinical fellowship in glaucoma at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina.

Dr. Herndon is a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and was a member of the first class of the Leadership Development Program. He has authored over 100 papers, lectured nationally and internationally, and participated in several research projects related to glaucoma. He currently serves as Chief of the Glaucoma Division at the Duke University Eye Center where he has trained 74 clinical fellows. Dr. Herndon has been recognized for his service in the community by receiving the Senior Achievement Award from the AAO and the Dedicated Humanitarian Service Award presented by Dr. Leonel Fernandez Reyna, President of the Dominican Republic, on the occasion of the 2nd Ophthalmology Mission in the Dominican Republic. Dr. Herndon is the recipient of the Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award from the UNC School of Medicine, and was the Surgery Day Lecturer at the American Glaucoma Society Annual Meeting in 2019. He is founder of the North Carolina Glaucoma Club, and the chair of the Glaucoma Clinical Committee of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons as well as secretary of the American Glaucoma Society.

Dr. Herndon’s research interests include studying novel treatment approaches in the diagnosis and management of glaucoma. He has ongoing research projects evaluating the high prevalence of primary open angle glaucoma in Ghana, West Africa, where he travels yearly.

Financial disclosure: Dr. Herndon has/had an affiliation (financial or otherwise) with a commercial organization:

  • Allergan
  • New World Medical
  • Glaukos
  • Ocular Therapeutix
  • Sight Sciences
  • Santen
  • Equinox

Sessions in which Leon Herndon participates

Friday 25 June, 2021

Time Zone: EST/Eastern Time (US & Canada)
5:30 PM
5:30 PM
  • Glaucoma I
  • 5:30 PM  -  7:00 PM  | 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Glaucoma

Vous êtes connectés en tant qu'organisateur. Cette page est en cache jusqu'à Mon, 06 Dec 2021 02:36:30 GMT. Prévisualisez la dernière m-à-j en cliquant Rafraîchir.
Déconnecter

Leon Herndon

Keynote Speaker
Participe à 7 sessions

Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD, est professeur d’ophtalmologie au Centre médical de l’Université Duke à Durham, en Caroline du Nord. Il a obtenu son doctorat en médecine à la Faculté de médecine Chapel Hill de l’Université de la Caroline du Nord et a fait son internat et sa résidence à l’hôpital de l’Université de la Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill. Le Dr Herndon a ensuite fait un stage postdoctoral clinique sur le glaucome au Centre médical de l’Université Duke à Durham, en Caroline du Nord.

Le DrHerndon est membre de l’American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) et a été membre de la première promotion du Programme de développement du leadership. Il a rédigé de plus de 100articles, a donné des conférences à l’échelle nationale et internationale et a participé à plusieurs projets de recherche sur le glaucome. Il est actuellement chef de la Division du glaucome à l’Institut de l’œil de l’Université Duke, où il a formé 74 stagiaires cliniques. Le DrHerndon a été reconnu pour son service dans la communauté en recevant le Senior Achievement Award de l’AAO et le Dedicated Humanitarian Service Award présenté par le DrLeonel Fernandez Reyna, président de la République dominicaine, à l’occasion de la 2e Mission d’ophtalmologie dans ce pays. Le DrHerndon a aussi reçu le Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNC et a été conférencier du en chirurgie au Congrès annuel de l’American Glaucoma Society en 2019. Il est fondateur du North Carolina Glaucoma Club, président du Glaucoma Clinical Committee de l’American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons et secrétaire de l’American Glaucoma Society.

Les recherches du DrHerndon portent notamment sur l’étude de nouvelles approches dans le diagnostic, le traitement et la prise en charge du glaucome. Il mène actuellement des projets de recherche sur la prévalence élevée du glaucome primitif à angle ouvert au Ghana, en Afrique de l’Ouest, où il voyage chaque année.

Divulgation des intérêts financiers : Le Dr Herndon a (ou a eu) une affiliation (financière ou autre) avec une organisation commerciale

  • Allergan
  • New World Medical
  • Glaukos
  • Ocular Therapeutix
  • Sight Sciences
  • Santen
  • Equinox

Sessions auxquelles Leon Herndon participe

Vendredi 25 juin, 2021

Fuseau horaire: (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
5:30 PM
5:30 PM
6:35 PM
6:35 PM

Dimanche 27 juin, 2021

Fuseau horaire: (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
11:00 AM
11:00 AM
11:10 AM
11:10 AM
5:30 PM
5:30 PM
5:40 PM
5:40 PM